4. DBH & 1. BATX: FUTURE TENSES

FUTURE TENSES

Exercise 1

Exercise 2

Exercise 3

WILL GOING TO PRESENT SIMPLE PRESENT CONTINUOUS FUTURE CONTINUOUS

 

FUTURE PERFECT
will    do something

won’t

be going to V

I’m, you are,  he/she/it is

we are, you are, they are

going to verb

3rd p sg –(e)s

don’t / doesn’t

be V+ing will be doing sth

will be + GERUND

will have done sth

will have + PARTICIPLE

 

to talk about a future fact

· He’ll be 24 tomorrow.

· The money will go into your account at the end of the month.

to make offers and promises

· I’ll answer the phone

· I’ll see you tomorrow

to express an intention or decision made at the moment of speaking

· It’s cold here. I’ll switch on the heating.

· I’ll have chicken and large fries.

to make a prediction (there is no present evidence)

· I think Germany will win the World Cup.

· If you take an aspirin, you’ll soon feel better.

 

to talk about a future intention when a decision has already been made/planned

· We’re going to meet them after school.

· I’m going to meet my friends in Gasteiz today.

 to talk about future predictions when there is evidence that something is going to happen

· Look at those black clouds. It’s going to rain.

· Be careful. You are going to fall!

to talk about future schedules, timetables and itineraries.

·The lesson finishes at 3:30.

·The train leaves at 9 o’clock.

 

In clauses with time words like when, after, until,…

·   I’ll come home when

– I finish work

– I have finished work

·  She’ll get in touch as soon as she has the information.

 

to talk about future arrangements

·  They are coming to see us tomorrow

(I phoned them)

·  I’m meeting Dani at 8:30 (diary)

·  Next holiday we’re staying in a hostel.

intention ≠ arrangement

You have to phone someone, write it down in your diary, book it or promise yourself something

 

to talk about planned actions that will take place in the near future

·  We are meeting Paul tonight

to talk about an activity that will be in progress before and after a particular time

· This time next week I’ll be driving to Bilbo.

· Don’t call me at 7 o’clock. I’ll be sleeping.

to talk about an action that will be completed before a specific time in the future

 

· You’ll have finished your homework by 9 o’clock.

 

·          

2 thoughts on “4. DBH & 1. BATX: FUTURE TENSES

  1. Pingback: 1. BATX: FUTURE TENSES. Review | ELOSaniturri

  2. Pingback: 1. BATX: FUTURE TENSES | ELOSaniturri

Leave a Reply

